The Duke and I by Julia Quinn: A Reed Reads! Book Rec

The Duke and I (Bridgerton series) by Julia Qunn

Where to find this book at Reed Memorial Library:

  • Adult Fiction or Large Print
  • Call number: FIC Quinn or LP Quinn
  • Also available as eBook or eAudiobook
  • View it on our catalog

Nicole from Public Services recommends The Duke and I by Julia Quinn. Read what she has to say about this one!

You may have heard of the hit Netflix show Bridgerton, which released late in 2020 and currently has two seasons available for streaming. As with many television shows and movies, this actually started off as a book series by Julia Quinn. Nicole comments, “If you have seen the hit Netflix series then this book series is an obvious choice. But, gentle readers, as we all know, the books are always better!”

So, what is The Duke and I about? As Nicole sums up, “Secrets, romance and scandal! Follow the lives of the ‘Diamond’ of the London Season and the most eligible bachelor (who happens to be a Duke) along with the rest of the members of the Ton!  Secrets are one thing when hidden, but can you hide from the Ton’s most notorious gossip writer Lady Whistledown? Who will be exposed? What reputations will be destroyed? Will love conquer all?” This 1800’s period piece full of drama sounds like a clear choice for historical fiction readers. She adds, “I highly recommend this fun, easy read.”

In addition to Bridgerton show fans, Nicole says this book is also great for fans of Downton Abbey and Pride and Prejudice.

Thanks for the recommendation, Nicole!

For more Reed Reads! Book Recs, browse this page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s